3 memorable Remixes on Monday

hell-o yall,
this week I wanna start with a 3-in-1-Remix-Package of mine so that yall may forget the general awkwardness of mondays…😉
these tunes were from the first remixcontest I ever participated in 1999 and it was for my favourite hiphop-group, the Beastie Boys.

I remixed their track ‘Alive’ from their compilation album ‘Beastie Boys Anthology – The Sounds Of Science’ and I got completely mad while remixing. I had so many ideas, that I made 3 completely different remixes of ‘Alive’ and here they come just for you:

Version 1:
My first version is a solid-grooving dopebeat/funky-breaks/hiphop-mix of ‘Alive’ featuring aswell myself rapping a distorted verse in german under the alias of ‘Hoellen-G’. In that time I had also a small german hiphop-project running named ‘A, D & Hoellen-G’ where I stole that verse from.
this remix also features the good old apache-break again aswell as some nice vocal cuts and heavy pitching-action.🙂
Beastie Boys – Alive (& Kickin’ RMX feat. Hoellen-G) by hell g.

Version 2:
This version is way more experimental than the first. I was experimenting with 3/4 beats and robotized raps that I used as melody parts. later on the tune turns into fat, distorted and chopped-up 4/4 dopebeats and breaks back into 3/4 count at the end. you can file that remix under lofi-illbient-triphop-dopebeats.
Beastie Boys – Alive (hell g’s Brand Nu Hype Remix)

Version 3:
I needed to let the dogs out completely and thats what I did in this aggressive rolling jungle version. I was influenced by Dj Zinc, the Ganja Kru and also stuff from Digital Hardcore Recordings and this is what mostly makes the vibes in this harsh version.
this remix features again the amen-break in several distorted, filtered and chopped-up variations.
Beastie Boys – Dead (Or Alive Remix by hell g.)

enjoy dem tunes!

2 thoughts on “3 memorable Remixes on Monday

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work!🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

