10 Questions for Valera Igla

it’s time for some detailsintimate, musical, cultural details from our artists of the $upra Recordings artist roster. to gather some of these details I’ve founded the brandnu Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ Interview section here in my blog. and here we go with the very first participant, our psychedelic brain-researcher and mulit-faceted musician Valera Igla.

Valera had his very first digital solo release named ‘Fallout Feeling‘ last month on $upra Recordings (read more about it HERE) and now we have some questions.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: hi valera, how are you?

Valera: actually I am fine, I think.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: could you describe what’s your true intention in making music?

Valera: first of all, music is fun and it`s something very social, it brings people together. I like to hang around with people who make music; I like to make music with other people and for other people. It makes me feel good, I don`t know why. It`s a way of abstract communication either between only few individuals or with a big audience, that can go deep to the emotional level. Music can be simple or very complicated, it can be sexy or aggressive, it can be abstract or very direct. However, I am especially interested in the creative process; I try to find new combinations, new ways and special atmospheres. Another interest of me is recording and mixing. This can be a science itself. So what is my intention? I really don`t know, I simply like almost everything concerning music.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: what kind of music do you listen to?

Valera: I listen to very different kinds of music. It can be orchestral, it can be handmade with amplified instruments or it can be electronic. I think that I could never be satisfied by only one style of music. I try to be independent of actual trends and scenes; it does not mean that I am no influenced by scenes, I just think, that I could never belong to only one scene. I try to be open minded. I think I should not start to mention all the artists that I have listened to in my life. But I should probably mention that there are also times when I only listened to my own music. I really like to listen to my own music, ha ha.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: yeah, I can imagine that. talking bout scenes: define today’s music-industry in three words or sentences.

Valera: today`s music-industry is changing fundamentally. The independence of the artist increases to the maximum with all the advantages and disadvantages. After 10 years of not knowing, what to do with internet, some people finally realised, that the only thing they have to care about is how to make cool music.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: ok, now for something trivial: what’s the meaning of life?

Valera: Aren’t we all products of love? I think to live, to enjoy life and to love are the only meanings of life. There is no deeper meaning in it.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: do you believe in something?

Valera: I believe in human mind.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: what’s your fighting style?

Valera: Harakiri

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: your alltime top-ten albums

Valera: I don`t like to make a top 10 order, because I don`t believe in “the best album”. I am also not sure if these albums are the only all-time favorites of mine, but they are at least very good

Smells like teen spirit/Nevermind – Nirvana
Electric ladyland – Jimmy Hendrix Experience
Fat of the land – The Prodigy
Wish you were here – Pink Floyd
Abbey Road – The Beatles
O`Delay – Beck
Let love in – Nick Cave
Portishead – Portishead
The future of war – Atari Teenage Riot
Ok Computer – Radiohead

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: what’s your favourite quote?

Valera: “Imagination is more important than knowledge” (Albert Einstein)
I found it on a poster in a Studio of Abandon Records, it`s so true! Albert was a cool guy.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: ok, nice. last question: do you like interviews?

Valera: I like interviews when the interviewer is interested in music and has listened to my albums. I hate interviews, when the interviewer is doing his interview and has no idea what we are talking about.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: nice point! valera, thank you very much for this interview!

p.s.: checkout, stream, buy valera’s release ‘Fallout Feeling’ below! VVVV

One thought on “10 Questions for Valera Igla

Leave a Reply

