10 Questions for DE▲D††BUT††DRE▲MING

it’s time for some more details n’ facts – last time we interviewed Valera Igla and he told us anything we wanted to know – this time we interviewed norways dark-dancer and sound-sorcerer Hans Luegeheu aka ‘DE▲D††BUT††DRE▲MING‘.

Hans’ released his selftitled and first longplayer in november 2011 on $upra Recordings (read more about it HERE ) and we wanted to know more about his darkus twisted dreams.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: hans, it’s been a while – you’re not that much into communicating via the web – what’s the problem?

DBD: I don’t like that email-social-chat-kind of communication – no, let’s just say: I hate it! it’s so random and so shallow. it’s damned to be misunderstood – I prefer to talk to people vis-a-vis.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: so does that implicate that you hate interviews too?

DBD: I don’t know – it’s my first one. I can tell you more when we’re done with it.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: ok, but thanks for letting it happen anyway.🙂 do you have a negative view on things in general?

DBD: no, I’m quite a positive person – my darkside is completely hidden in my music. it’s like an outlet for me – I just can let all the darkness go with it.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: when listening to your album (what I do very often I must confess) it’s obvious there’s also a big melancholic vibe to it – all these small spherical tracks named ‘Passion xy’ which sound like timestretched fragments or pieces remind me on movie scores or something. do you have a penchant for movies?

DBD: yes, absolutely! I’m a huge fan of horror and sci-fi movies in general and I love the movies and scores by john carpenter! he’s my idol – I totally worship him! there are not many people outside who combine such tension and atmosphere within music & motion picture. ok, if you take the oldschool composers like Jerry Goldsmith f.e. – he was my godfather of moviescores. maybe carpenter is somehow related to him. unfortunately Goldsmith is dead.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: but maybe he’s dreaming anyway?

DBD: exactly! you got my name ‘Dead But Dreaming’ decrypted right!

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: how do you mean?

DBD: we are all connected – subconsciously. it’s like a field, an invisible neuronal network. it’s active everytime, each day and night and even when we die or are already dead. it exists because of our dreams and fantasies which will never die because it’s a form of energy – and as we all know: energy won’t vanish completely, it just changes his form or shape.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: is this fact or only belief?

DBD: what’s the fucking difference?

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: hey, I’m askin’ questions here right now!😀

DBD: it’s all only a matter of viewpoint – you’re are a scientist? you have a scientist viewpoint on things. you are religious? you have an religious viewpoint aka belief. you’re an atheist? you have another viewpoint and so on – the point is: when we are dreaming we are all the same! noone dreams f.e. in a scientific way – dreams interconnect both worlds, the real world and the fantastic world – everyone knows this! even people who claim not to dream anyway. every human being on this planet is dreaming – even animals do it.🙂 it’s like a meeting place for our souls.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: or a chat-room?

DBD: hey, don’t upset me! I’m just trying to explain my name. if you don’t want to know it’s ok!

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: nono, sorry hans, I find it extremely interesting but somehow its maybe too philosophic or esoteric for some readers here… and maybe it goes a bit far aswell. so, wasn’t the name ‘Dead But Dreaming’ a songtitle of ‘Fields of the Nephilim’, too?

DBD: that’s true.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: speaking of songtitles: what music inspires you?

DBD: I’m a huge fan of all dark stuff like wave, ebm, industrial, dark ambient, experimental – I guess it all started when I listenend to ‘Skinny Puppy’ for the first time in my life. I got totally hooked on their music. I also used to listen to the more ebm type of sound like Nitzer Ebb, Front 242 or even stuff like Click Click and Cabaret Voltaire.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: these are all very dark and sinister types of music – any positive vibes too?

DBD: no.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: but you told me in the beginning that you’re a positive person – how’s that possible?

DBD: being a positive person while listening to dark music is not an impossible thing to do.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: but it sounds like some kind of depression to me.

DBD: you can get positive vibes thru negative thinking aswell – it’s a matter of how you transform the energy, because it’s all energy.

Ħ Ξ Ŀ Ŀ: this is a perfect closing sentence! thank you very much for the interview! by the way: did you enjoy it?🙂

DBD: enjoying is the wrong word – let’s just say I’m not annoyed.

(this interview was held via skype)

p.s.: checkout, stream, buy ‘DE▲D††BUT††DRE▲MING’ below! VVVV

also checkout the videos!

Leave a Reply

